Lafayette Saturday Night


So I get a text message from Poussiere on September 24th asking if I was available to ref on the 28th. Now you may not know but refs generally get booked from at least a month to about 10 months out.

Sometimes refs back out or forget to confirm or any multitude of reasons. But basically Rude Jude of Acadiana was a little panicked. Once he knew I was confirmed “a weight was lifted” off his shoulders. I know the feeling, noob refs need bout and scrimmage time to improve their craft. But you can’t have a well officiated bout with 6 noobs and a head ref.

In any case I felt appreciated and proud to be thought of as fair and experienced enough to be a “go to” ref to come out and ref. Believe me I am by no means implying that I’m a great ref, but I think I’m better than mediocre and above all unbiased. Yes I am friends with a few skaters from various leagues off track. I’m also refs with various refs, NSOs, announcers and volunteers.

I was glad for the opportunity to ref with some old friends I hadn’t reffed with for over a year.

For those that care Acadiana’s All stars lost to Gulf Coast Roller girls, and the Red Sirens (acadiana’s B team) beat the Voo Doo (I forgot the second part) Gulf Coast’s B team.

Stash Merkin once again rocked the announcer mic solo for both bouts doing the color commentary and play by play quite well. Yes I was paying attention to the game at hand, but amplified speakers manage to filter their way in.

Sorry for the late post but work has been more hectic than it has been as of late.

Leave a Reply

