But I wish it were Sunday


So Sunday night I announced for Rocket City Rollergirls who played at home in Deer Park against the  South Texas Rolleristas. RCRGNow they had ten on their roster. Two couldn’t make it and one had a flat on the way so they had to bring another skater in, who made it late.  So by the end of the night they were playing with eight skaters. This is more of a disclaimer. It was great to see some friends that I generally have to settle conversing with on facebook if that. (I’m rarely on there except to pimp this blog out). I got to work with my friend Sunnie with a chance of pain and I gotta tip my hat to Rolleristas for bucking the trend and using real last names.

Now as usual I get to the venue early and chit chat with the refs. Though this time it was more of listening in on the previous nights antics. I was excited to see Fairlane and Frogher (Spindletop referees) though sad to see that they weren’t reffing, just fans for the night. There were fewer fans than I had expected, but derby has those lulls of high/low fan attendance. But among the fans were other derby peeps as well. Rocket City has several well seasoned players with banked track experience. Also some of their noobz are getting well trained and holding their own.

Sunnie I think has got her groove in announcing, seeing and calling plays as they happen and dropping little anecdotes as well as explaining some game mechanics. It’s also great to have someone to co-announce with and bounce off each other in getting the color commentary going.

STRSTR really busted their butts earning every single point the got on the board. Most skaters playing back to back to back to back to back to backs. With only one or two jams to rest, I’m sure they were grateful for every official time out. Knowing Krez Sez, I wouldn’t put it past him to have extended an official time out by a second or ten. He is very fair and as any good ref should, looks out for the safety of the skaters FIRST and then ensures the proper enforcement of the rules.

So far I hope I’ve been keeping y’all entertained and or interested enough to keep coming back. If you have any suggestions comments complaints or post ideas leave a comment and I’ll get back to you promptly

About

Just a Roller Derby announcer, former I referee, rock the mic and in the past I have been known to wear a sexy pink shirt. I share my point of view formerly from inside of the track and now, wherever the announcers booth is. www.facebook.com/derbystripes Or derbystripes.wordpress.com

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in announcer, roller derby
4 comments on “But I wish it were Sunday
  1. Uzi Q says:

    I am just about to start ref training with the Cincinnati Rollergirls and stumbled on your site…I’ve got a question; are you attending any of the WFTDA clinics for officials this summer or hae you in the past?If so, Id be interested in a post about that experience.

    • refelgallo says:

      Unfortunately I have not been able to make it to a WTFDA Officials clinic, the first one I could’ve attended I couldn’t afford. Actually all of them have been too far to be able to afford time off work, lodging, hotel, meals etc.

      Fortunately Corbin Cojones with HRD is a level 4 certified ref (He might be a level 5 now) But Houston roller derby had been doing a semi annual unofficial ref clinic that I have been able to make. I can’t comment as to how the two compare. However If you know of any higher level refs in your area. approach them about doing a ref clinic to get a better understanding of the rules.

      I’ll be posting about Houston Roller Derby’s ref clinic after I attend it later this month.

    • refelgallo says:

      Unfortunately I have not been able to make it to a WTFDA Officials clinic, the first one I could’ve attended I couldn’t afford. Actually all of them have been too far to be able to afford time off work, lodging, hotel, meals etc.

      Fortunately Corbin Cojones with HRD is a level 4 certified ref (He might be a level 5 now) But Houston roller derby had been doing a semi annual unofficial ref clinic that I have been able to make. I can’t comment as to how the two compare. However If you know of any higher level refs in your area. approach them about doing a ref clinic to get a better understanding of the rules.

      I’ll be posting about Houston Roller Derby’s ref clinic after I attend it later this month.

Leave a Reply

Archives
Cool Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 726 other followers

Survival Sherpa

Helping each other on the climb to self-reliance and preparedness...the Survival Sherpa way...One step at a time.

The Derby Diary

Follow along as I join a roller derby league and go from Fresh Meat to Roller Derby Rock Star (hopefully)

lovelylikebeestings

Days in the life of an aspiring roller girl trying to work in the library/archives world without a masters degree.

Share Your Articles

“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”

Texarkana Quad State Derby Dames Roller Derby League

Women's Flat Track Roller Derby League

Flat Track Fink

Blowing the whistle on roller derby

Kid Block Blogs

I'm Kid Block. Roller derby skater, coach and enthusiast. Skating for the London Rollergirls (Brawling) + Team England. All opinions are my own.

The Official How To Blog

The official site of how to-ing.

smashimoto

training, skating, eating good food

The Derby Diary

A profession of love: for the skaters, by the skaters.

Derby+Diapers+Daily

roller of derby / changer of diapers / blogger of blogs

Rockin' Roller Derby and Fitness

From Freshie to Super Star

DerbyCakes

Vegan Cupcakes By A Raw Meat Gal.

Cen-Tex RollerGirls

Central Texas' All-Women's Flat Track Roller Derby

Eenie Meanie Skates

Ramblings of a derby girl. Seriously, that's pretty much all I talk about.

2x4 Roller Derby

Primer Liga Argentina de Roller Derby

Locker Room Shenanigans

"I am sorry I can't, I have skating"